Greeting to Friends everywhere:
The 115th Annual Session of Wilmington Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends met from July 6 to 9, 2006, at Friendsville Friends Meeting House in Friendsville, Tennessee. The session was organized around the theme “Not Conformed, But Transformed,” taken from Romans 12:1-2.
In excess of 90 Friends attended various portions of the meeting including the pre-Yearly Meeting Retreat conducted by Cindy Drinnon and Andrea Scott. Scott Knight led Bible study centered upon the Yearly Meeting theme each morning and attenders continued discussion of the theme in worship sharing groups afterward. Margaret Stoltzfus of United Society of Friends Women International addressed the USFW/Quaker Men banquet and Shane Claiborne delivered the annual Peace Lecture. Sam Chapman of Friendsville Friends Meeting was the featured speaker at Sunday morning worship.
With Lois Hackney as Presiding Clerk, Friends used traditional Quaker business practice to address challenging issues including revision of the Wilmington College charter, methods for the discipline of children, the future of the YouthQuake program and a formal Yearly Meeting policy on sexual and other forms of harassment.
The meeting welcomed visitors and gratefully received reports from other organizations including Wilmington College, Friends United Meeting, Friends Disaster Service, Friends Committee on National Legislation, Friends World Committee for Consultation and Right Sharing of World Resources.
A meaningful memorial service was held lin which Friends who had passed away during the previous year were remembered. Several new pastors were introduced and John Todd, pastor of Xenia Friends Meeting, was recorded as a minister of the gospel.
Friends in attendance at the 115th annual session of Wilmington Yearly Meeting asked Friends throughout the world to join with us in living out and celebrating the transformative power of God through Jesus Christ that has been the focus of our thoughts and prayers during this meeting and throughout the previous year.

Doug Woodmansee
Bob Beck
Debby Knight,
Epistle Committee

Joomla templates by a4joomla